What Is The Prize Pool For Madden Esports Championship?

Madden is one of the longest-running football video game franchises, and just like other popular competitive games, Madden has its own tournament called Madden Championship Series.

The only difference between the Madden Championship Series to other video game competitions is that it runs for nine months. It is structured with thousands of matches and several key events that highlight the tournament.

Since the period for this tournament is stretched out, it provides an opportunity for players to get back in the competition even if they lose some matches.

In other words, maintaining a steady pace throughout the nine months and staying focused is the most important thing in Madden Championship Series.

Nowadays, you can also bet on these eSports, the same way that you can bet on actual NFL games. It’s easy, if you have any understanding of what NFL spreads are, you will be able to bet on Madden eSport games too. 

Anyway, here is how the past championship series happened.

Who can Compete in the Madden Championship Series?

It is quite easy to enter the Madden Championship Series and virtually anyone can register. You only need to meet a few straightforward requirements such as:

  • Be a legal resident of the USA, Canada, Germany, Mexico, or the United Kingdom

Unfortunately, the Madden Championship Series is not available in other parts of the world. There have been some talks about expanding the borders of the championship, but it is still uncertain whether or not it will happen.

  • Be at least 15 years old

Minors must be accompanied by parents to compete in the championship.

  • Own or have access to the current Madden game

Of course, in order to compete in the championship, you need to have access to the latest Madden NFL game. The championship allows players on both Xbox and PlayStation to compete.

  • Have an EA Account
  • Ability to travel to events and cover fees and expenses for non-EA Sports sponsored games

These are the requirements that will allow you to join the championship. But not so fast. All of these requirements will make you eligible for entering the championship. This doesn’t mean that you are guaranteed a spot in the competition.

There is a filtration system where EA opens up a competition where players play games with each other and win points. Once you reach enough Points you can enter the championship.

Points for Madden Championship Series are awarded in a different competition, such as any EA Majors, Challenge Events, Premier Events, and more. 

So, even though any player can enter the championship, in order to compete they’ll need to reach Elite Rank (red) in online play.

Major Events for Madden Championship Series

Reaching the championship is a tough road that every competitor needs to walk on. There are four different EA Major events:

Madden Club Championship

Here participants are allowed to pick one of the 32 NFL teams and compete throughout the tournament without being able to change. Competitions are played on Madden Ultimate Team, Champions, and Salary Cup just to be able to rise through the online leaderboards.

The best player from each NFL team’s group moves on to the next round in a single-elimination tournament.

Madden Classic

This is a single-elimination tournament where 512 players participate. Games are played in head-to-head mode and they are able to choose different teams for each round.

Madden Challenge

This is another single-elimination tournament with the same number of competitors where games are played on MUT Draft mode.

Last Chance Qualifier

If you missed all your previous changes, this is the time to climb back up. This is a double-elimination tournament with 128 players competing for a hot spot in the tournament.

Madden Championship Series Prize Pool

The competition this year is already happening and we are close to the winner of the championship. So, if competing in the biggest NFL video game championship is not enough for you, maybe you’ll change your mind once you hear the prize pool for the championship series.

The Madden Championship Series has a prize pool of $1.65 million where every participant gets something in return.

This prize pool is split into different competitions, such as:

Ultimate Kickoff – Prize Pool $150,000

  • 1st Place $40,000
  • 2nd Place $25,000
  • 3rd and 4th $15,000
  • 5th – 8th $10,000

Online Elimination Phase for Both Consoles

1st-4th Advance to Live Finals

5th – 8th $1,875

Ultimate Thanksgiving – Prize Pool $250,000

  • 1st Place $75,000
  • 2nd Place $35,000
  • 3rd and 4th $25,000
  • 5th – 8th $15,000

Online Elimination Phase for Both consoles

1st-4th Advance to Live Finals

5th – 6th $5,000

7th – 8th $2,500

Ultimate Wild Card – Prize Pool $250,000

  • 1st Place $75,000
  • 2nd Place $35,000
  • 3rd and 4th $25,000
  • 5th – 8th $15,000

Online Elimination Phase for Both consoles

  • 1st-4th Advance to Live Finals
  • 5th – 6th $5,000
  • 7th – 8th $2,500

Ultimate Madden Bowl – Prize Pool $1,000,000 ( Feb 1 – Feb 13)

  • 1st Place $250,000
  • 2nd Place $150,000
  • 3rd and 4th $100,000
  • 5th – 8th $55,000
  • 9th – 14th $30,000

The ultimate prize of the tournament is a quarter of a million dollars which makes it one of the most prestigious sports video championship events in the world. 

The Ultimate Madden Bowl 22 finished on February 8, with Henry Champion beating Wesley and getting the 1st place: $250,000. Henry became the first player to win two years in a row.

You can try again later this year, the season normally takes off on October.

If you feel confident in your Madden NFL skills, make sure to give it a go next season, after all, there is nothing to lose and everything to win.