After weeks of waiting, the much-anticipated ranked competitive mode has finally arrived for VALORANT, featuring an all-new set of rank icons with the peak rank being renamed to Radiant. Alongside this new game mode, VALORANT patch 1.02 also implemented one of the most requested features to the game – the Early Surrender button.


The surrender button enables players to opt out of a VALORANT game before its conclusion. All the remaining players of a team need to agree on the vote for it to be passed and once passed, awards the opposition for all the remaining round wins, while offering the round losses to the team surrendering.

Here’s how you can use this new Early Surrender feature in the next VALORANT game you find unwinnable:

  1. Press the Enter key to open chat.
  2. Type “/ff” or “/forfeit” in the chat box, without the quotation marks.
  3. If a teammate calls up the vote, all you need to do is type “/yes” or “/no” in the chat to register your vote. You can also use the F5 and F6 keys on your keyboard for the same task.
  4. If all the remaining players in your team votes yes, the vote will be passed and the game will end.

Keep in mind that the surrender vote cannot be called before the 8th round, and furthermore, it can only be called once per half. This has likely been done to prevent spamming of the surrender vote and to keep games interesting while also giving the players a chance to surrender if and only when continuing a game would seem futile.

Since surrendering a game is the same as losing all the remaining rounds left to make the enemy team win, the surrender button should only be used when a player of your team has left and the game seems unwinnable through a 4v5. Surrendering when the game is still 5v5 is generally a bad choice unless your team is heavily out skilled by the opposition, and you’re certain that no further round can be won by your team.

Facebook Comments