Manish Sisodiya Encourages Other Governments to support esports in India

Esports Premier League 2021, a nationwide esports tournament first of its kind Free Fire tournament organized by India Today Gaming has pushed eSports a step closer to get it recognized by the Indian government.

Last year, the ban of India’s most famous battle royale mobile game ‘PUBG Mobile’ gave a large blow to the Indian esports and gaming market. With the game coming back this year with a revised version as ‘Battlegrounds Mobile India’ and events such Esports Premier League 2021 has attracted the eyes of the Indian government.

India Today Gaming invited the Deputy CM of Delhi to facilitate the winners of the league.  The mega prize distribution ceremony took place at a city hotel on 30th Aug 2021 in the presence of Deputy Chief Minister of Delhi Mr. Manish Sisodia and Ms. Kalli Purie, Vice Chairperson, India Today Group, who awarded the champions and the runner-ups with the trophies and the cash awards.

Delhi’s Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodiya shared his views towards the now emerging Indian eSports market. While addressing the winners and participants of ESPL 2021 he said, “It’s my pleasure to be here. To be part of this wonderful event. Esports could become a well-accepted and well-executed tournament in India. I congratulate the team.”

He further added “Esports now is growing very fast. I am convinced that this ā€œEā€ sport deserves all the support and recognition. I promise that the Delhi government will encourage Esports in every possible manner. We will be happy to encourage all the initiatives that will help the industry and the sector to grow.ā€

Before concluding his speech, he said ” It is up to us and the governments to promote and facilitate this kind of new generation sports. I can commit, we will not hold back. We are with you, you tell us what to do, we will do!”

ESPL 2021 was a multi-city tournament over a period of two months. ESPL 2021 featured a massive prize pool of Rs 25,00,000 distributed among the top 8 teams. The league was divided into four phases starting with the in-house registrations of the teams. Over a period of two months, the best Free Fire teams of the country made it to the finals which were held on 29th Aug 2021. 

ESPL 2021 was won by Mumbai Marshals emerging as the champions of the first edition. The team was represented by one of the most loved teams, TSM FTX.