IEM Katowice 2023: All you need to know

IEM Katowice 2023

IEM Katowice is the first massive CSGO tournament that will take place this year in 2023. It will take place from February 1st to the 12th in Katowice, Poland.

The leading CSGO esports event organizer, ESL, will be holding its first major of the 2023 circuit, IEM Katowice 2023, from February 1st through the 12th, with a massive total prize pool of $1,000,000 USD.

FaZe Clan’s victory at IEM Katowice last year set the tone for the rest of the year, as they went on to dominate the first half of the season.

Here is a rundown of the most likely teams to win the Katowice tournament, as well as a list of all the qualified teams.

Group Stage

  • FaZe Clan
  • Team Vitality 
  • Outsiders
  • Heroic
  • Team Liquid
  • Natus Vincere
  • G2 Esports
  • Mousesports

Play-In Stage

  • Cloud9
  • Ninjas in Pyjamas
  • Team Spirit
  • Complexity Gaming
  • FURIA Esports
  • MIBR
  • IHC Esports
  • Grayhound Gaming
  • OG
  • ENCE
  • BIG
  • Sprout
  • Evil Geniuses
  • Fnatic
  • Permitta Esports
  • paiN Gaming

Play-In, a double-elimination bracket with eight berths in the subsequent group round at stake, will kick off the event with 24 teams. They’ll be joining another eight teams who were also given invitations to the main competition.

IEM Katowice’s play-in stage, which features a double-elimination format, begins on February 1. By the third of February, the 16 teams participating in the play-in round will be reduced to eight. The opening round consists of single games, while the rest of the series will be best-of-three.

Complete Format of IEM Katowice 2023 


  • 16 teams to compete in a Double-Elimination Bracket
  • Opening Match-ups to be played as Best of 1s
  • Following the Opening matches, every game would be determined on a Best of 3 result.
  • Top 8 teams to qualify for the Group Stage and join the rest 8.

Group Stage

  • Eight teams from the Play-In join the other eight in the Group Stage.
  • These Sixteen teams will be further divided into two groups. 
  • Every match of the Group Stage will be Best of 3.
  • Top 3 teams from each group moves onto the playoffs


  • Every match played will be based upon a single elimination rule.
  • Apart from the Grand Finale, every match will be a Best of 3 with the former being a Best of 5 affair. 

The eight teams who make it out of the play-in round will join the eight automatic qualifiers for the group stage, which will take place from February 4-7. The group stage is a best-of-three, double-elimination bracket with two groups of eight teams each.

A single-elimination bracket will be used to determine which teams from each group will move on to the playoff semifinals. The next two teams in each group to finish in second and third place will advance to the quarterfinals.

Starting on February 10th, the playoffs will conclude with the championship game on February 12th. The elimination rounds and semi-finals will be best-of-three, while the final will be best-of-five.

The entirety of the competition will be streamed live on YouTube and Twitch in a plethora of languages, including English and French, respectively. As the competition progresses, numerous streams will be broadcasted at once.

For more exclusive esports and gaming content, please follow TalkEsport on Google News.